Hong Kong’s Secret: Tai Long Wan

It’s often said that Hong Kong is lacking in natural beauty, and is often characterized by its dull, polluted skies and towering skyscrapers. However, anyone who says that, has just been too lazy to get up and explore. Sai Kung boasts two country parks, of which on the east-most coast is Tai Long Wan (TLW).

A set of three white-sand beaches; Tai Wan, Ham Tin and Sai Wan. Tai Wan is the hardest to reach, and therefore is the most unspoilt of them all. Sai Wan is the most frequently visited beach of the area. The one we visited was Ham Tin, a 2-hour trek from Pak Tam Au along the Maclehose Trail No.2. There are endless blogs and posts on HKexpat, describing different ways to reach TLW. Here I’ll tell you the way we went.
Our journey began from Hung Hom. Firstly we caught a red public light bus (minibus) to Mong Kok from Ma Tau Wai Rd. Then from Dundas Street in Mong Kok, we caught a red minibus to Sai Kung. Then at Sai Kung after stocking up on water, we took the KMB double-decker No.94 towards Wong Shek Pier. We got off at the 19th stop, Pak Tam Au. If you sit on the top deck, you can follow the stop announcements on a board at the front. When you get off, if you walk about 10m in the direction the bus was going, you should see some toilets and the beginning of Maclehose Trail 2 (clearly signposted).

The trail is clearly marked all the way to Ham Tin beach. Keep an eye out for unusual wildlife on the way, such as lizards, crabs and snakes. There is a stop on the way to get emergency drinks, which are priced at double the normal price. Also, when you reach Ham Tin beach, there will be a simple cafe, with a friendly owner and a bunch of assorted dogs greeting you. Once you cross the rickety bridge made of splitting planks of wood, you’ll finally reach the solace of Ham Tin beach. Enjoy the waves but do be aware of a hidden undercurrent.

4 comments

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website? My website is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would genuinely benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Cheers!

    1. If you think your readers would like any of my blog posts, then you can make a link to my blog from yours in related posts. And in return I can do the same for you. However, you cannot take my blog posts and put them on yours. Let me know what you’re going to do.

  2. Amazing blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally confused .. Any suggestions? Appreciate it!

  3. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% positive. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Kudos

Leave a comment here

